Release Event: Issue 15



50 invited guest editors for “The Collectivity Issue”

46 selected artists from our open call

~ 200 community members and representatives from the international photography scene celebrated the release of the new issue 15 with us

Der Greif thanks you for celebrating the release of issue 15, titled “The Collectivity Issue”.We were very happy to welcome so many of you during this year’s edition of Paris Photo to L’INAPERÇU, a brand new Parisian gallery and curated art bookstore combined with a restaurant that will officially open in December.On November 10, many visitors at Paris Photo joined us for the pre-launch of Der Greif #15 incl. signing in the fair’s Media Lounge, at the Grand Palais Ephémère.After the pre-launch, we welcomed to our special release event at L’INAPERÇU with an open bar and DJ to celebrate with us and some of the #15 participating artists, among them Thomas Albdorf, Jessica Backhaus, Nadine Fraczkowski, Hannah Hughes, Mårten Lange, Thomas Lohr, Anne Morgenstern, Prarthna Singh and more. At L’INAPERÇU, an installation of the magazine, showcasing all 50 double spreads, was on display.We hope that this successful event in celebration of photography and collectivity has brought you fruitful exchanges within the Der Greif community, and a copy of the new issue for your bookshelf! If you could not be in Paris with us, you can order Der Greif #15 here.For 2023, we are planning to host a series of physical events to celebrate our 15th anniversary, inviting guests from our network of artists and curators to revisit previous projects and highlight Der Greif’s position as one of the most forward thinking organizations in photography today.

Concept of "The Collectivity Issue"Issue 15, titled “The Collectivity Issue”, marks a special approach to Der Greif’s annual guest-editing. Instead of working with one guest editor, Der Greif invited 50 artists to each edit a single spread within the publication.What does collectivity mean in a world currently overshadowed by conflicts and crises? And what roles do collective making, collective trauma and collective responsibility play in our work? How can this shape our understanding of the photographic medium and its role in our collective consciousness? These questions inspired this issue’s theme.Conceptually, The Collectivity Issue focuses on experimenting with different visual forms of collaboration through photographs. Every double-page spread is a juxtaposition of the guest editor’s work with one taken from the open call which ran from 10 May till 17 July 2022. During the open call, artists and photographers from all over the world submitted almost 6.000 images that correspond with their own perception of collectivity.

The invited guest editors are:Laia Abril, Hoda Afshar, Thomas Albdorf, Justin Aversano, Delali Ayivi, Jessica Backhaus, Hajar Benjida, Tereza Cervenova, Debmalya Roy Choudhuri, Maja Daniels, Roger Eberhard, Anna Ehrenstein, Charlie Engman, Nadine Fraczkowski, Tania Franco Klein, Kris Graves, Saskia Groneberg, Melanie & Stephanie Hausberger, Todd Hido, Hannah Hughes, Andy Kassier, Nico Krijno, Mårten Lange, Gabby Laurent, Shane Lavalette, Simon Lehner, Pixy Liao, Thomas Lohr, Janelle Lynch, Amak Mahmoodian, Anne Morgenstern, Stefanie Moshammer, Zora J Murff, Marton Perlaki, Sarker Protick, Maximilian Prüfer, Luis Alberto Rodriguez, Kwabena Sekyi Appiah-nti, Andy Sewell, Max Siedentopf, Pacifico Silano, Prarthna Singh, Eva Stenram, Clare Strand, Esther Teichmann, Peter Watkins, Jonas Wendelin, Bowei Yang, Tereza Zelenkova and Tobias Zielony.

The selected artists from the open call are:Benjamin Althammer, Lucie Armstrong, Josip Artuković, Eric Asamoah, Silas Bennett, Jessica Bernard, Serena Biagini, Joeri Boelhouwer, Ágoston Bényi, Joseph Cochran II, Houston Cofield, Seth Cook, Meg De Young, Benjamin Dickey, Malcolm Easton, Danielle Ezzo, Georbella Fini, Jillian Freyer, Claudia Fuggetti, Adam Gara, Kai-Uwe Gundlach, Julia Gunther, Caroline Heinecke, Yu HIRAI, Anna Hulth, Jade Joannès, Beth Johnston, Arnoldas Kubilius, Amanda Lopez, Ben McDonnell, Piera Moore, Maria Plotnikova, Juan Miguel Ramírez Suassi, Alena Schmick, Forrest Simmons, Jürgen Sobkowiak, Alexandre Souêtre, Sarah Stone, Wojciech Szczerbetka, Ivan Tomasevic, Joselito Verschaeve, Amy Woodward, Xiangqi Yin, Hyejeong Yoo and Michael Young.